Join The Team

Team title: SEP Validation

Team ID: H3-01

Team Leads:

Katie Whitman (NASA JSC SRAG, Wyle, USA),

Phil Quinn (NASA JSC SRAG, Wyle, USA),


Ian Richardson (NASA GSFC, UMD, USA),

M. Leila Mays (NASA GSFC CCMC, USA),


Scoreboard Leads:

M. Leila Mays (NASA GSFC CCMC, USA),

Mark Dierckxsens (BIRA-IASB, Belgium),

Leadership Alumni: 

Mike Marsh (UK Met Office, UK),

Keywords (impact): Human exploration

Keywords (activity type): Forecasting, Assessment, 


The ISWAT SEP Validation team is a continuation of the existing SEP Working Team that was developed under the ICCMC-LWS forum. 

Team questions: Where do we stand with SEP prediction? Using case studies of selected events, can we assess where we stand with SEP prediction? How well can the success of SEP models be compared? Is it possible to identify a uniform metric? How do we move beyond using case studies for model/data comparisons?

Recent campaigns: SHINE 2018, 2019, ESWW 2018. (See team website for presentations and reports).

The SEP Scoreboard also falls under this team's projects. This scoreboard collects and displays real-time SEP forecasts (probabilistic, and intensity time series).


Organize community campaigns to evaluate how well different models/techniques can predict historical SEP events throughout the heliosphere

Establish metrics agreed upon by the community

Provide a benchmark against which future models can be assessed against

SEP Scoreboard: Add more models to the scoreboard database/display and to obtain input on the way the data is displayed.

Action topics:

Clusters with overlapping topics:  S2 

Link to team external website: (Scoreboard)


Show/Hide Team H3-01 Participants

Anastasios Anastasiadis (National Observatory of Athens, GREECE)
Hazel Bain (CIRES CU Boulder / NOAA SPWC, USA)
Nour Dahmen (ONERA, France)
Silvia Dalla (University of Central Lancashire, UK)
Maher Dayeh (Southwest Research Institute, USA)
Mark Dierckxsens (BIRA-IASB, BELGIUM)
Alec Engell (NextGen Federal Systems, USA)
David Falconer (UAH (University of Alabama in Huntsville), USA)
Alexa Halford (NASA/GSFC, USA)
Junxiung Hu (UAH (University of Alabama in Huntsville), USA)
Meng Jin (LMSAL - Lockheed Martin Solar and Astrophysics Laboratory, USA)
Insoo Jun (NASA/JPL, USA)
Stephen Kahler (AFRL - Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
Michalis Karavolos (National Observatory of Athens, GREECE)
Irina Kitiashvili (NASA/AMES, USA)
Patrick Kuehl (University of Kiel, GERMANY)
David Lario (NASA/GSFC, USA)
Monica Laurenza (INAF/IAPS - Institute of Space Astophysics and Planetology, Italy)
Gang Li (University of Alabama in Huntsville, USA)
Jon Linker (Predictive Science Inc., USA)
Janet Luhmann (UC Berkeley - University of California Berkeley)
Olga Malandraki (National Observatory of Athens, GREECE)
Mike Marsh (Met Office, UK)
M. Leila Mays (NASA/NSF Community Coordinated Modeling Center (CCMC), USA)
Rositsa Miteva (Institute of Astronomy with National Astronomical Observatory - Bulgarian Academy of Sciences)
Marlon Núñez (University of Malaga, SPAIN)
Dusan Odstrcil (GMU - George Mason University, USA)
Mathew Owens (University of Reading, UK)
Evangelos Paouris (National Observatory of Athens, GREECE)
Athanasios Papaioannou (National Observatory of Athens, GREECE)
Barbara Perri (IAS - Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale, France)
Arik Posner (NASA/HQ, USA)
Phil Quinn (NASA/JSC/SRAG - Space Radiation Analysis Group USA)
Ian Richardson (NASA/GSFC, USA)
Javier Rodriguez-Pacheco (University of Alcala, SPAIN)
Igor Sokolov (University of Michigan, USA)
Robert Steenburgh (NOAA/SWPC, USA)
Du Toit Strauss (Center for Space Research, North-West University, South Africa)
Stephen White (AFRL - Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
Katie Whitman (NASA/JSC/SRAG - Space Radiation Analysis Group USA)
Matthew Young (University of New Hampshire, USA)
Lulu Zhao (Florida Institute of Technology, USA)
Yihua Zheng (NASA/NSF Community Coordinated Modeling Center (CCMC), USA)