COSPAR logo  COSPAR Panel on Space Weather

Terms of Reference | Appointed PSW MembersUpcoming Events |  Space Weather Roadmap  |  ISWAT

Appointed PSW Members 2024 - 2028

Members Appointed by Space Agencies and Organizations Responsible for National/Regional Space Weather Programs and Services

Eric Adamson (NOAA Space Weather Prediction Center - NOAA/SWPC, USA) 

Jens Berdermann (German Aerospace Center - DLR, Germany) 

Francois Bocquet (Met Office, UK) 

David Boteler (Natural Resources Canada, Canada) 2024 - 2026 

Sean Bruinsma (National Centre for Space Studies - CNES, France) 

Jamie Favors (NASA Heliophysics Division, USA)

Masaki Fujimoto (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency - JAXA Institute of Space and Astronautical Science - ISAS, Japan) 

Alexi Glover (ESA Space Safety Programme) 

Americo Gonzalez-Esparza (Space Weather Service Mexico- SCiESMEX, Mexico)

Vladimir Kalegaev (Moscow State University Space Monitoring Center, Russia) 

John Manuel  (Solar- Terrestrial Science at the Canadian Space Agency, Canada) 

Richard Marshall (Australia Bureau of Meteorology, Australia)  

Omar Nava (Air Force Space Weather, USA) 2024 - 2025

Anatoli Petrukovich (Space Research Institute - IKI, Russian Academy of Sciences, Russia) 

Christina Plainaki (Italian Space Agency - ASI, Italy)  

Mangala Sharma (National Science Foundation - NSF, USA) 

Liu Siqing (National Space Science Center, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China) 

Jim Spann (Office of Space Weather Observations at NESDIS, USA)

Luca Spogli (European Space Weather and Space Climate Association - E-SWAN)

Mpho Tshisaphungo (South African National Space Agency - SANSA, South Africa) 

Yurdanur Kabasakal Tulunay (Turkish Space Agency, Turkey) 

Kichang Yoon (Korean Space Weather Center of National Radio Research Agency, South Korea) 


Members Appointed by International Organizations

Jesse Andries  (World Meteorological Organization - WMO

Nat Gopalswamy (International Space Weather Initiative - ISWI

Mamoru Ishii  (International Space Environment Service - ISES)

Kirsti Kauristie  (WMO Space Weather Expert Team - ET-SWx

Christopher Kotsakis (International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics, IUGG) 2026-2028

Masha Kuznetsova (COSPAR International Space Weather Action Teams - ISWAT

Laure Lefevre  (International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy - IAGA, Interdivisional Commission on Space Weather)

Ramon Lopez (Scientific Committee on Solar-Terrestrial Physics - SCOSTEP

Ian Mann (Moderator of WMO-ISES-COSPAR Coordination Team -WICCT

Arnaud Masson (International Heliophysics Data Environment Alliance - IHDEA

Hermann Opgenoorth (COSPAR Liaison to the United Nations) 

Alexei Pevtsov (International Astronomical Union, IAU)  

Iwona Stanislawska (International Union of Radio Science - URSI

Simon Wing (International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics - IUGG) 2024-2026


Members Representing Organizations  Involved in Space Weather Research, Data Collection and Distribution, Operational Product Development and Transition to Operations. 

Anna Belehaki (National Observatory of Athens - NOA, Institute for Astronomy, Astrophysics, Space Applications and Remote Sensing - IAASARS, Greece)  

Mario Bisi (UK Research and Innovation - UKRI, Science and Technology Facilities Council - STFC, Rutherford Appleton Laboratory - RAL Space, UK)

Carine Briand (LESIA/Observatoire de Paris, France)  

Consuelo Cid (University of Alcala, Spain)  

Joaquim Eduardo Rezende Costa (National Institute for Space Research - INPE, Brasil) 

Sergio Dasso (University of Buenos Aires, Argentinean Space Weather Laboratory, Argentina) 

Mamoru Ishii (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology - NICT,  Japan)

Insoo Jun, (NASA/JPL Center for Space Radiation - CSR, USA)

Kirsti Kauristie (Finish Meteorological Institute - FMI, Finland) 

Masha Kuznetsova (NASA/NSF Community Coordinated Modeling Center - CCMC, USA)

Ronald van der Linden (Solar-Terrestrial Centre of Excellence - STCE, Belgium) 

Mauro Messerotti (National Institute for Astrophysics - INAF,  Italy) 

John Morgan (Australia’s National Science Agency - CSIRO, Australia)

Dibyendu Nandi (Center of Excellence in Space Sciences India - CESSI, IISER Kolkata, India) 

Alexei Pevtsov (National Solar Observatory, Synoptic Program, USA)

Stefaan Poedts (Katholieke Universiteit Leuven, Virtual Space Weather Modeling Center, Belgium)

Craig  Rodger (University of Otago, New Zealand) 

Vincenzo Romano (National Institute of Geophysics and Volcanology - INGV, Italy) 

Yuri Shprits (German Research Centre for Geosciences - GFZ, Germany) 

Manuela Temmer (University of Graz, Austria) 

Jaroslav Urbář (E-SWAN WG-LIAS Chair, Institute of Atmospheric Physics of Czech Academy of Sciences)

Jim Wild, (Lancaster University, UK)

Pietro Zucca, Netherlands Institute for Radio Astronomy (ASTRON), Netherland


Members Representing COSPAR Commissions, Panels, Task Groups, Committees 

Mpho Tshisaphungo (south Africa), Panel on Capacity Building (PCB)

Nicole Duncan (USA), COSPAR Committee on Industrial Relations

Kent Tobiska (USA), International Organization for Standardization (ISO)